Green Curry Chicken

What a great weekend I’m having! Friday evening hit me like a ton of bricks and I fell asleep before 9 pm… but man o man I woke up this morning with a TON of energy!

First thing I had to do was organize the kitchen. It was driving me crazy that every time you opened the pantry a can avalanche would land on your toes. We need more cupboard space so I brought a cabinet from my bedroom down to the kitchen and organized all the ziplock bags/tupperware/pyrex in there. Next I hauled all the junk out of the pantry and wiped down the shelves.

Now in order to make my new lifestyle easier I got rid of all the foods I will never cook with again (anything with high fructose corn syrup/preservative chemicals). I love my brother so much that I let him have first dibs 🙂 When putting the foods I’ve deemed acceptable back I put the healthiest “best” choices on the two shelves that were eye level. Then less healthy below that and the booze on the bottom shelf, because let’s face it, if I’m going to cheat it will be a yummy drink concoction with the liquor I just inventoried.

I worked up quite an appetite so it was time for lunch, a turkey burger with guacamole, bacon, lettuce and tomato YUM! I drank my hibiscus tea with frozen berries as ice and let my brother try it…. He had the same look as my mom… those little sugar addicts.

We all enjoyed the beautiful weather by heading to the pool. The great thing about our neighborhood is that nobody goes there so it is like our own private pool, that we don’t have to clean ;).

Thanks to my pantry clean up I knew I had all the ingredients to make my favorite Green Curry Chicken. It is such an easy dish, just throw everything in and let simmer. You have to control your drooling while the wonderful smell is wafting through the house.

The recipe goes something like this:
– Cooked meat (about a pound), I use chicken because my family is picky but I am dying to do a shrimp version

-Curry paste (Thai Kitchen makes great variations that go well with everything) I start with two spoonfuls and add if needed.

-1 can full fat coconut milk (no guar gum!)

-Veggies! Any kind you have in the fridge/freezer. I happened to have frozen spinach and broccoli as well as fresh carrots and green pepper. The spinach and broccoli really soak up the flavor so I love using them.

Since we are going to the outdoor concert series I had my dinner with a glass of iced coffee. I experimented with 1/3 cold brewed coffee, 2/3 coconut milk and a sprinkle of Dutch cocoa (for a mocha touch). Pretty darn good without all the additives like the Starbucks version.

20120818-182751.jpg

Leave a Reply

