Arlington Farmers’ Market

I woke up bright eyed and bushy tailed on Saturday and decided to head over to the Arlington Farmers’ Market. If you are not familiar with the area it is pretty yuppie and very expensive and yet tons of young folks live there (not sure how they afford it). I was warned I needed to get there when it opens (8 am) so I made sure to gather my reusable bags and head out bright and early.

It is in the Courthouse area and actually there was plenty of parking all around. Another plus, it was raining a little so the crowds were light.

They had all kinds of produce there with everything being fresh and in season since it is locally grown. The prices were definitely cheaper than the grocery stores, I was worried since it was a “yuppie” region they might try and up the prices. I ended up with a basil “bush,” lots of veggies (think tomatoes, zucchini, eggplant and asparagus) as well as some buffalo meat, YUMMY!

Although I was totally spoiled by my market experience in Boulder CO, this was a good find and I will definitely be back! If you live in a different area you should check for a farmers market, they are becoming very popular and are popping up all over! Google is always a good start as well as Yelp, share your local farmers market experiences as well as any tips for saving money while shopping organic.

Leave a comment